Rescued by a local boy, Ihlara valley, Turkey

Local savior

There are moments in your life that you need to be rescued. Ideally, of course, by your loved one that’s so romantic. But what do you do when your loved one is already on the other side of the water?

That happened to me in Turkey. We were in the Ihlara Valley and in one way or another if we are out walking, we always do it differently than other people. Whether we walk up the mountain, while the rest is walking down. Or, as here, we think we are walking in the right direction and then it turns out we are not. Our walkway came out on a big mountain which we could not cross. And there was water. No gentle river but a fast flowing river (in my head I made it bigger than it was). And so what do you do? Walk back for hours? Or take off your shoes and try to cross the river on slithering stones? My husband was quickly convinced and stood in no time on the other side. Ok I also took off my shoes, but in my mind, the river became wider and more rough. And I admit, I did not have the courage to cross the river. Luckily for me there was my local savior, a Turkish boy of maybe 12 years old. On his hand I crossed the river.

Er zijn van die momenten in je leven dat je gered moet worden. Het liefst natuurlijk door je geliefde dat is wel zo romantisch. Maar wat doe je als je geliefde al aan de andere kant van het water staat?

Dat overkwam mij in de Turkije. We waren in de Ihlara vallei en op de een of andere manier als wij aan het wandelen zijn doen we dat altijd anders dan andere mensen. Niet omdat we tegendraads zijn, het gebeurt ons altijd. Of we lopen tegen de berg op, terwijl de rest berg afloopt. Of zoals hier we denken de juiste weg te lopen en dan blijken we op een punt te komen dat je niet meer verder kunt. Ons looppad kwam uit op een hele grote berg waar we niet overheen konden. En er was water. Geen liefelijk kabbelend watertje. Maar een grote kokkelende massa. Je snapt in mijn hoofd heb ik het groter gemaakt dan het was. En ja wat doe je dan. Loop je uren weer terug? Of trek je schoenen uit en waag je de oversteek over glibberende stenen? Mijn man was snel overtuigd en stond in een mum van tijd aan de overkant. Mijn schoenen had ik inmiddels uitgedaan maar op de een of andere manier werd de rivier steeds breder en het water steeds ruiger. En daar was ineens mijn lokale redder, een Turkse jongen van misschien 12 jaar oud. Aan zijn hand heb ik de oversteek gemaakt.

Local savior

Local savior

2 thoughts on “Rescued by a local boy, Ihlara valley, Turkey

Leave a Reply

