Barcelona #1, Spain

Barcelona, Spain. Remember walking on the concrete where all the palm trees stood. Summer 2013 was awesome!

What a great city. I myself have been here three times. I would actually not object to visit this beautiful, impressive and cultural city again. There is so much to see and do that after three times, there are still things that I would like to see. For example visit the beach of Barcelona. Until recently I did not even have the faintest idea that Barcelona was on the sea. But it turns out that there are fantastic beaches with trendy beach bars …. No … I really did not know that. What I did see during my three trips to Barcelona is too much to mention in a blog, so I decided to split it.

The first time I was in Barcelona, ​​I was traveling with my big sister Danielle. I was 17 years old and was on my first vacation without parents. I can tell you, it was one of the best vacations ever. I guess most of you have fond memories of the first parentless vacation. I did for sure. A new world opened up for me. Traveling the world, visiting cities, going out and so much more. The travel agency had several extra’s which we could book like a day trip to Barcelona.

When you enter the city center of Barcelona the towers from the Sagrada Familia rise above everything.

Sagrada Familia Cathedral, Barcelona, Spain - hopefully i make it to Barcelona when i'm in Madrid!

Rarely have I seen anything like this immensely big building which has left a lasting impression. She is not on the list of the seven world wonders that you must have seen in your life. Definition: a designation for remarkable natural and manmade structures or areas which are distinguished by various bodies or persons. But if I had been assigned to create this list, La Sagrada Familia was certainly on there! What I find so incredibly impressive about this building is that the whole life of Jesus is portrayed in different styles.

Antonio Gaudi, the actual architect has started the construction of this basilica. Gaudi has become a famous architect, among other things for his usage of mosaic. The mosaic is used in this building multiple times. After Gaudi’s death the construction of the basilica has not stopped. Until today they are working on the building. Please keep in mind when visiting the Sagrada that the building is partly placed with scaffolding. But this should not spoil the fun because there is plenty to see. I can go quite extensively enumerate what the oh’s and ah’s for this beautiful building are but I would say, go see it with your own eyes. Make your own memory!

Obviously I made a lot of pictures while being there which I would have liked to share with you. I do not have digital pictures given my current age and the age I was when visiting the Sagrada so you will have to do it with these pictures from Pinterest.

Lisette

Details, La Sagrada Familia, Barcelona, Spain

Wat een geweldige stad. Zelf ben ik 3 keer in deze stad van Spanje geweest. En eigenlijk zou ik er echt geen moeite mee hebben om nog eens een bezoekje te brengen aan deze mooie, indrukwekkende, cultuurrijke stad. Er is zoveel te zien en te beleven, dat er nog steeds dingen zijn, die ik na drie keer nog zou willen doen of zien. Bijvoorbeeld een bezoek brengen aan het strand van Barcelona. Tot voor kort wist ik om heel eerlijk te zijn, niet eens dat Barcelona aan de zee lag. En dat er fantastische zandstranden zijn met hippe strandtenten…. Nee… dat wist ik echt niet. Wat ik wel heb gezien is teveel om op te noemen in een blog, dus dan maar in delen.

De eerste keer dat ik in Barcelona was, was ik op jongerenreis met mijn zus Danielle. Ik was 17 jaar en ging voor het eerst op vakantie zonder mijn ouders, maar met mijn grote zus. Ik kan je vertellen, het was een van de beste vakanties ooit. Maar ik denk dat de meeste van jullie goede herinneringen hebben aan de eerste keer op vakantie zonder je ouders. Ik wel in ieder geval ;). Tjonge er ging een wereld voor mij open. Zo ook de wereld van het reizen, steden bezoeken etc.. Bij deze jongerenreis waren er verschillende extra excursies bij te boeken. En zo ook een dagbezoek aan Barcelona.

Als je het centrum in komt rijden, kan het eigenlijk al niet missen. De torens van de Sagrada de Familia stijgen overal bovenuit. Zelden heb ik in mijn leven zoiets immens groots gezien, wat zoveel indruk op mij heeft gemaakt. Ze staat niet op de lijst van de zeven wereldwonderen. Definitie: Een wereldwonder is een benaming voor opmerkelijke, natuurlijke en door de mens geconstrueerde bouwwerken of gebieden, die door diverse instanties of personen worden onderscheiden.Die je in je leven gezien moet hebben. Maar als ik de lijst had mogen maken, stond La Sagrada de Familia er zeker op! Wat ik zo ontzettend indrukwekkend vind aan dit bouwwerk, is dat het hele levensverhaal van Jezus uitgebeeld is in verschillende bouwstijlen.

The ceiling of Gaudi's Sagrada Familia, Barcelona (the entire church is it's a must-see down to every intricate detail!)

Antonio Gaudi , de eigenlijke architect is begonnen met de bouw van deze basiliek. Gaudi is een beroemd architect geworden door onder andere het gebruik van mozaïek. Wat je veelvuldig terug ziet in het gebouw. Na zijn dood is er niet gestopt met bouwen aan deze basiliek. Tot op vandaag wordt er nog steeds gewerkt. Als je dan ook gaat, hou er dan rekening mee dat het gebouw in de steigers staat. Maar dat mag de pret zeker niet drukken, want er valt genoeg te zien. Ik kan heel uitgebreid gaan opnoemen wat de oh’s en ah’s zijn voor mij aan dit prachtige bouwwerk, maar ik zou zeggen, ga het met eigen ogen zien. Maak er een eigen herinnering van!

Uiteraard heb ik zelf heel veel foto’s gemaakt, die ik graag met jullie had willen delen. Maar gezien mijn huidige leeftijd en de leeftijd van toen, heb ik die foto’s niet digitaal. Dus moeten jullie het helaas doen met foto’s van het internet (Pinterest).

Lisette

Leave a Reply

